boston and big islands

She’s baaacccckkkkkk!!!!

2014-05-29 19.15.58

Sooo… Hi! It’s been awhile since I made an appearance on this blog! Talk about stating the obvious! Let’s just say that a lot of life has happened in the last few months! In the span of about a month in a half, I got a new job and moved to a new city in a new country. I’ve been focused on settling in since then so needless to say, there hasn’t been much time for knitting and sewing! Fortunately, I had TONS of time to knit and sew in the months leading up to this big change! The sweater featured here? Knit and photographed in May but as this is only now getting some wear, waiting to post it was a good choice, nee? That’s my story and I’m sticking to it!

2014-05-29 19.16.01So where am I now? Boston! Out of the lab and into a brand new career that I friggin’ love! However, while Boston is geographically close to Toronto, it’s been an adjustment! But did I mention that I love my new job?!  The downside, of course, is all of the friends I left behind. For the most part, my science friends had already moved on from their postdocs (though there are still a few that I already miss terribly) but the awesome sewing and knitting community I was part of in Toronto? Kristin, Andrea, Gillian, Catja? The awesome ladies of Eweknit? The list goes on really and they are all now too far away! So if you know of any sewing and knitting peeps in the greater Boston area, direct me to them or direct them here!

2014-05-29 19.15.04

So let’s talk about the sweater. Another Jared Flood design! Shocking, I know! This one is called Oshima and I was kicking myself for not getting to it sooner last year. How handy would that cowl have been in the Great Deep Freeze of 2014? 2014-05-29 19.14.56

What I feel like doing every time I put this one on!

I made this one out of the Berroco Ultra Alpaca (one of my go to yarns) that I picked up at the EweKnit boxing day sale. It’s a pretty straightforward knit with some slick finishes (tubular cast on and bind off) and a ton of squishy brioche stitch. And the cowl? Seemed endless but every time I put this thing on I just want to burrow down! Not a bad inclination for a winter sweater!

2014-05-29 19.14.01I could go on and on about Brooklyn Tweed patterns and my Jared Flood knitting crush but I think we can skip that this time around. Probably best to hit publish before I walk away for another 4 months! In the meantime, can’t wait to catch up!

cat cuddlesEnjoying a sleepy cat as I write this. Focus on the cat, people and ignore the tired face!

Sara

Ravelry notes can be found here.

 

20 thoughts on “boston and big islands

  1. WOW. I love. No. LOVE that sweater! The cowl turtleneck looks completely delightful! It sounds like you’ve been very busy! I hope that you’re settling into your new home. I think there is a large sewing community in the Boston area. I’m not personally familar, but Grey’s Fabric is in Boston, and bloggers/designers Katy & Laney and blogger Cashmerette are there also.

    • Hey Michelle.Thanks! I’ve been thinking the same about your recent makes! Your lemongrass?! LOVE! And I do think this one (Oshima) is right up your alley. I do know about the Crafty Foxes but have yet to make it across the river to check them out. Maybe one day soon!

  2. Welcome to Boston! Michelle is right, there is a pretty large sewing community in the Boston area, including some science folks (like myself). 🙂 Grey’s Fabric has their Crafty Foxes Sewing Club on Wednesday nights. I’ve never been myself because it’s a little bit of a trek for me, but definitely stop by if you live downtown! In Cambridge, there is a great community around Gather Here, my favorite local shop. If you’re at Harvard/MIT, I can point you to a few specific people in the area. There are lots of sewing scientists in Cambridge!

  3. Cowls are not my thing, but having seen this baby in person, I can vouch for its awesomeness. In fact, I may be warming up to making one myself. Good to see you back, friend!

    • Hey Friend. I’m not always a huge fan of the large cowls and I was worried that this one would be suffocating. Not at all, as it turns out! I think the squishy brioche helps! It’s great for staying warm when you’re cheap with the gas heating as I am!

  4. Sara, it is sooo good to read from you again. 🙂 I am very happy that you love your new job and hope you will soon bump into many new sewing and knitting friends. The sweater is awesome. It looks so cozy! Wish I had it here, because they say this winter will be even colder than in 2014. Brrrr. I did a lot of crafting with twigs and branches recently but have also been too busy to publish all of them. Maybe during the holiday break. And there is still something sitting on my dresser that wants to be shipped to Boston… 🙂 I wish you all the best and hope to read from you again before April! 😉

  5. We miss you too! I’m so glad you are liking work though – how awful if you got there and hated it! Have you found a knitting group yet? Hopefully there’s a good one nearby.
    If you are back at all any time, do let me know!!! (Not that you have family to bring you here during the holidays, but a girl can hope, right? )

    • So far, no knitting group but I’ll admit that I have not looked very hard yet! Preoccupied with new job and new house so have been letting all of life slide of late. No swimming, no climbing, no sewing and very little knitting. Bad! But I’ll make an effort to get going on all fronts over the holidays! I was planning on coming up later this month but it’s looking more and more like that’s not going to happen. I will definitely make it back eventually though! No family to visit but many, many friends!

  6. Nice to see you – and your sweater! I’m so glad the new job is working out, and no doubt you will be knitting up a storm again in no time. It’s been a bit of a busy fall for lots of people, it seems, so you are in good company!

  7. You should definitely come to Crafty Foxes!! It’s such a lovely group of ladies, including Katy and Laney, Ping (peneloping), Carrie (Oh She Dabbles), Mackenzie (Some Real Things) and me 🙂 plus if you’re a regular you get an engraved wine glass 😉

Leave a Reply

