Refashion Month: Toddler Dress

It is refashion month over at House of Estrela and I am super excited to be taking part!

Refashioning is not something that I do often but since I have a steadily growing pile of discarded clothing from both my husband and my own closet, it is something that I need to start doing more of.  For this project I started with an old dress shirt of mine that shrunk the first time I washed it, making it just a tad too tight.

IMG_7991

Since I still really loved the fabric, I opted to turn this into a dress for my daughter.

IMG_8008

To do this refashion, I started with the front bodice piece from the geranium dress.  I lengthened it by a few inches so that it would hit my daughter at her waist and lowered the neckline to give it more of a scoop neck.  I used the same bodice for both the front and the back of the dress and I kept the button placket from the original shirt and used that as the front of the dress.

IMG_8041

I used the back of the shirt for the back of the dress.

IMG_8026

To make the skirt I used the rest of the shirt and turned it into a simple gathered skirt.

IMG_8046

To make it even easier, I kept the existing shirt tail hem.

IMG_8011

To finish the neck and arms I made bias tape from some pink cotton I had in my stash.  I love the pop of colour that it adds!

neckline

The final product is a simple and quick summer dress!

IMG_8013

Make sure to check out the rest of the line up and don’t forget to enter the giveaway!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Elizabeth

6 thoughts on “Refashion Month: Toddler Dress

  1. this fabric was really worth a second change and I am sure your little one is so happy about it. the magic of refashion. thanks for being part of the series.

Leave a Reply

