Finnley’s Summer Wardrobe

I have big plans over the next month or so to sew the majority of my kids summer clothes. Fabric has been bought and patterns have been picked, but not much more than that has been done so far. Last weekend I did make a start and whipped up a super quick tank and some capris.

IMG_7708

For the tank I used the rio racerback tank from Peek-a-Boo patterns.  I picked this one up as soon as it was released because I knew it would be a great staple for my daughter’s summer wardrobe.  Plus I am a sucker for a good knit pattern.  Love, love, love sewing with knits.  So quick!  This top took about an hour to make from cutting to hem.  I have plans for a few more tanks and at least one dress.  The triangle fabric is from Girl Charlee and can be found here.  The one thing with sewing for toddlers is that their clothing doesn’t take a lot of fabric and I still have about 2/3 of a yard left.  What to do with the leftovers?

IMG_7709

The fit on the tank is really great.  I cut a 3T for the width, but made it a 4T for length.  I especially love the racer back!

IMG_7711

To go with the tank I just happened to have some aqua stretch denim that I picked up for 50% on a recent trip to my local Fabricland.  Totally lucked out and it was a perfect match for the triangles (plus a couple of the other knits I picked up from Girl Charlee on my last order).  I decided to try the host pants pattern from LouLouBee clothing that was part of the most recent Pattern Parcel.

IMG_7710

The host pants are a super popular pattern and there are lots of adorable versions where the fit is excellent.  Unfortunately the fit on Finnley’s pants is not quite what I was going for.  She very clearly fit into the 3T measurements, but there is a ton of extra fabric on the back of the pants, especially in the bum area.  The waistband is adjustable and I had to tighten it quite a bit just to make them stay up.

IMG_7715

Thankfully when her top is pulled down it becomes less obvious. I would like to try the pattern again, but will have to do a bit of tweaking to make it work.  To make the pants into capris I used this as a reference and then simply rolled the pants up to make a cuff.  Simple to do, but makes the pants perfect for spring.  I tacked the cuff down, but they could easily be taken down and turned into pants in the fall if I so desire.

IMG_7718

Fit issues aside, it is a great outfit that was made just in time for the warm weather we are having this week!  Comfy and easy to move in which works well for playtime, such as digging in the dirt with sticks with little brother!

IMG_7721

Elizabeth

Linked up with:  Tuesday Sews

 

 

7 thoughts on “Finnley’s Summer Wardrobe

Leave a Reply

