Matinee Dress Blog Tour

Recently I was one of the lucky few picked to test Jennifer’s very first pattern, the Matinee Dress!  I love testing patterns (and test a lot of them!) but was particularly happy to be picked for this one. It’s adorable! Considering that this was Jennifer’s first pattern, I was incredibly impressed by the quality and am happy to report that she has produced a professional pattern with excellent diagrams and very straight forward and easy to follow instructions.

IMG_7696

What initially drew me to this pattern was definitely the plunging back.

IMG_7694

The pattern features a bunch of different options so you can easily customize it: cap sleeves, hem band, or you can even make a peplum.  Jennifer even adds a section with suggestions for additional modifications you can make to personalize your dress or top, such as adding a ribbon as she did here.  For this version of the matinee dress I did make one modification, which was to omit the sash as I thought it would break up the stripes on the front of the dress. However, I did want to keep the button closure so I made two short pieces using the sash dimensions and sewed them to the dress when attaching the bodice to the lining.  I love how this feature turned out and I especially love the pop of yellow against the blue and white stripes. Nice splash of sunshine to welcome the spring!

IMG_7689

The fit on this dress ended up being excellent, although I have to admit that this was my second version as my original dress was a wee large on Finnley and didn’t do this pattern justice!  Thankfully Jennifer added a whole section talking about how you can customize your pattern sizes to get the perfect fit for your child.

IMG_7693

This is the original dress that I made for testing which is too big all over and overwhelms my daughter.

IMG_7636

The back of the dress gaped and it doesn’t take much to see undies which is not something anyone needs to see!

IMG_7649

Fabric choices for this dress are pretty open which gives you endless options to make a more casual dress with quilting cotton or a more formal dress from satin or taffeta.  For my second version I used a striped quilting cotton and alternated the direction of the stripes to add visual interest.

IMG_7691

Thanks so much for the chance to test your very first pattern, Jennifer and I am super excited to see what you come up with next!

Elizabeth

Linked up at:  Inspire Us Thursdays

10 thoughts on “Matinee Dress Blog Tour

  1. What cute dresses! I love the low back with the closure half way up. I wouldn’t mind an adult-sized dress like that! And at least you’ll have a cute dress ready for her when she grows out of the blue and white one, right?

  2. i think this is one of my favorite versions:) I actually like how the strap is only on the back, and I love the yellow buttons with the blue. Really cute!

Leave a Reply

