The “Better Late Than Never” Kara Cardigan

2014-03-29 17.21.03

Finally!  I have seamed and taken pictures of my Kara cardigan and am ready to share!  I’m almost embarrassed to admit that I actually knit this beauty last July and have yet to wear it out.  It was my first foray into seaming and for some reason, I was extremely reluctant to dive in! A little intimidation and some serious finishing procrastination (in general!) meant that this sat for months in a ziploc bag in my overflowing WIP drawer.

2014-03-29 17.20.37I took it out and blocked it in the fall when Gail posted her extremely gorgeous version but that’s as far as I got. A little push from Andrea and Kristin and an upcoming visit from Gail in which I wanted to play twinsies and I found the missing motivation needed to finish this right up. Took no time at all, which only emphasizes how ridiculous I was being!

2014-03-29 17.21.32

Anyway, on to the deets (my Ravelry notes can be found here).  This is the Kara cardigan from Cecily Glowik MacDonald. I made this using the Cascade sport, which was my first time working with this yarn. Cascade never disappoints in my opinion and I won’t hesitate to use this particular base again. It was inexpensive with surprisingly nice stitch definition! This sweater was designed to be worn with a good amount of positive ease and I will say that the fit here is a wee more snug than it would have been had I finished it in July! A common theme this year but rather than whine about arthritis, injuries and an increasing departure from the marathon-loving athlete that I was, I’ll just say that I still love this sweater as it fits now! Andrea and Kristin have also tried this on and it looked great on both of them. My point is that I really think it’s hard to go wrong with this pattern!

2014-03-29 17.22.17

i-cord edge

I’m  trying hard to remember if I made any significant changes to this pattern and none come to mind. Again, such a procrastinator! I did finish the ribbing using an icord bind-off and I quite like the tidy edge. The only downside was that I had never tried this method before and I didn’t realize how rigid it was. It’s not terrible here but I do find it a bit tight at the back of the neck. A patient few minutes with some steam and gentle pulling has loosened it up though so all is well!

2014-03-29 17.21.00

Taking a nap?

It’s late and I can’t think of anything else that needs to be said about Kara.  I wasn’t joking when I said that I have been slow with the finishing touches on my makes these days so be prepared to be bombarded with sweater posts this week!

Cheers!

Sara

17 thoughts on “The “Better Late Than Never” Kara Cardigan

  1. OMG it’s gorgeous! Seriously, I like it better than mine! I might have to pick up some magenta yarn and go for round two 🙂 Can’t wait to see it and you IRL!

    • Thanks Gail! And I had the same thought when I saw yours so I guess we both chose well! Though a magenta version would look far better on you than a Honey one would on me! Also looking forward to seeing you this week!

  2. I LOVE this sweater! Gorgeous work. (Remember, I will take it if you ever give it away! :-)) Actually, I have a couple of hand made sweaters that might work for you, in my closet right now. Not for trade, just for a gift!. Next time I see you, you can try them and see if you like them / they fit / you might like them.

    And your hair looks so good in these photos!

    • Thanks, K! Seeing this cardigan on you and Andrea was one of the primary motivators to finish it! Seems to look great on everyone who tries it on! Alas, I kind of love this one so think I may be keeping it (jury is still out on the red Urban tank).

  3. Sara, this colour is GORGEOUS on you! Seriously, I thought coral was your colour, but magenta may have just taken the prize. You already know I really like Kara (and you are making want to jump on the bandwagon) so I don’t have to gush to much again, but I will say that you look super pretty in all these photos.

  4. Pingback: My Late Latte Cardigan | hamiltonchicklets

    • Thanks Michelle! The sweaters I’ve done since finishing this are seamed (including the current Channel cardigan for your KAL) and I do enjoy the process now that I have gotten over the irrational fear!

  5. Pingback: In Real Life | Stitch ParadeStitch Parade

    • Thanks, Silvia! This cardigan (colour and style) looks great on everyone who has tried it on. I just saw your Ravelry message and I will get back to you on the colour code. And the glasses are new so I’m still getting used to them but I think I like them as well!

  6. Pingback: Lemon Squeezey Pullover… | hamiltonchicklets

Leave a Reply

