PR&P: Winter Wonderland

Another season of Project Run and Play is here and I couldn’t resist sewing along again!  This weeks theme is Winter Wonderland, which makes me think of white, fur and lots of layers that are all not very practical when you are sewing for small children.  I knew that I wanted to try and sew something for Daxton and when looking around for some inspiration I came across this picture on Pinterest which looked perfect and I decided to use it as my inspiration.  (Source for photos below).

si3 si2

To recreate this look I started with the vest.  I had originally planned on drafting my own pattern for the vest until I came across the Great Outdoor Vest from Peek-a-Boo patterns, which was exactly what I was looking for and would save me some time.  Even after I found the pattern I had still planned on drafting it myself because lord knows I didn’t need another pattern, but my lovely sister Sara bought and sent it to me and made the decision for me.

IMG_7203 IMG_7214

For the vest I used a navy summer twill for the outer and a quilting cotton for the lining.  I also added two layers of batting that I quilted to give it that classic puffy vest look.  The pattern was super simple to use and it came together quickly and with no issues.

Rather than make a white shirt like the inspiration picture I wanted to add some colour.  For Dax’s shirt I used a men’s extra large that I had in my re-purpose pile and used my favourite go to shirt pattern, the Recess Raglan from See Kate Sew.  This was my first time taking advantage of the existing hem from an old T-shirt which makes a super nice finish on the final shirt.  The only thing I forgot to take into consideration was that I should probably shorten the pattern piece to account for not needing to hem it, so a bit longer than normal but not too long that it looks funny.

IMG_7216

The final piece, and the most labour intensive, was the skinny jeans.  I used the Skinny Jeans pattern from Peek-a-Boo patterns.

IMG_7209

Although I ended up being super happy with how the final product turned out, there were many times as I was sewing them that I wasn’t sure I liked the jeans. The construction went smoothly up until I needed to add the waistband.  When I tried them on Dax before finishing the side seam I discovered that, even though I had picked as size that should have left some room to grow, these were going to be some super skinny jeans!

I took my time when constructing the jeans and used the topstitching thread to make them look as close to store bought as possible and I love how all the details pop!

IMG_7222

IMG_7219

Where I hit some trouble was when I was trying to attach the waistband.  I just kept making mistake after mistake and in my frustration I decided to add a rib knit waistband.  This ended up being a happy mistake because the jeans are so tight and a bit restrictive and I think the original waistband would have made them really uncomfortable for Dax.

IMG_7220

Overall I am really happy with how this outfit turned out but lets be honest, could anything look bad on this adorable little boy?!

IMG_7228

IMG_7197

IMG_7199 IMG_7198

I have trouble coming up with an idea I love for next week so am going to sit that one out.  I will be back for week 3 and will enjoy looking at everything everyone else creates next week.

Elizabeth

40 thoughts on “PR&P: Winter Wonderland

  1. Those skinnies are awesome. My girl has a little trouble with the skinny jeans being a little too tight too so I get where you’re coming from. The ribbed waistband is a great solution!

  2. this is the best kind of waistband for little boys.
    really the only waistband my boys want to wear!
    did you add elastic to the inside??
    love the look. great job!!

  3. Loving this! I have some skinny pants from the Gap for my little one year old–and they have the elastic ribbing inside of the waistband. It works great…in fact I was thinking of adding it to the next pair I make for him. Glad to hear that the pants worked out in the end–especially after so much work! Great job!

Leave a Reply

