The Wooly Coppélia

Happy New Year, Peeps!  Everyone enjoy their holidays? Hope so!  My last two weeks have been so full of awesome friends and family that my empty apartment is feeling a wee lonely this week.  But I normally love my space and my solitude so I’m sure the blue feelings won’t last!  I’m just catching up on my blog reading now and I am loving all of your 2013 round-up posts and 2014 plans!  I’ll be adding my own to the collection shortly but am going to quickly post my last wardrobe contribution from 2013.  I started this post in November so it will be good to finally hit publish!

2013-12-05 16.24.44

Back with another Coppelia wrap!  Think that I enjoy the pattern?!  I’m going to keep this post short and sweet as I already discussed the pattern at length in this post.  Sadly, I have no pretty pictures of the city to show you this time around!  I was talking quite a bit about taking blog pictures with Andrea, Kristin and Gillian this weekend (another fun meet-up that I will talk more about in my 2013 round-up) and have some tentative plans to improve on this front.  Will be fun to try at the very least!

16.27.0816.27.06

But back to the coppelia!  This one is made from a really lovely wool jersey that I picked up at Kings Textiles.  I’ve never worked with wool jersey but having been itching to (could not resist the wool-related pun) since Lauren wrote about it with her Lady Skater.  As you all know, I’m also a knitter and so have a major love affair going on with wool.  Is there a better fibre out there? Keeps you warm, keeps you cool.  Really, I could go on but I’ll spare you all the gushing!

2013-12-05 16.25.222013-12-05 16.26.01I wanted to lengthen the pattern even more than I did the last time around (where I added two inches) but I was limited in the fabric department.  My awesome wool jersey was not he cheapest fabric so I bought the very minimum.  I could squeeze an extra three inches to the bottom if I shortened the sleeves, which is what I clearly did.  In the end, I think this is a workable length and I love the 3/4 length sleeves!  I also went down a size (this version is an XS, which should give you some indication of the generous sizing on this pattern!) as I found the last version a wee loose.  What I didn’t consider was that this wool jersey has a lot less recovery than the mystery blend I used before.  So despite going down a size, this one is loose!  It’s not really an issue but it means that I have to take care to wrap it tightly to avoid any gaping at the neck.  I also added about three inches in length at each end on the straps.  I wanted some flexibility in where I tie this sucker!  

16.26.07

“Picks up cat hair and lint like it’s its job!”

To quote Sallie, this fabric picks up hair like it’s its job, which leads to a giant grrrrrr!!!! moment every time I put this sucker on.  Covered in hair that is a total bitch to remove!  When you live with two cats, you learn to live with the layer of pet hair that tends to decorate everything you own but every once in awhile, it will drive me completely nuts.  This would apparently be such a moment!

2013-12-05 16.28.08

STOP!

2013-12-05 16.28.41

cozy jazz hands!

2013-12-05 16.28.53

my aching back!

I don’t often blog about knitting accessories as that would get out of hand quickly.  However, I took the photos of these babies for my Ravelry project page while I had a friend with a camera in her hand so have decided to include them.  Why?  Cause I love them!  I made them with my favourite winter accessory yarn (Blue Sky Alpaca Suri Merino).  It is seriously the most delicious yarn you will ever encounter (soft, drapey and so friggin’ warm) but it has a fairly strong halo, which makes these mitts look a wee furry!  An appropriate match with the furry wrap, would you not agree?

16.24.00

And we’re done.

And on that note, good-bye 2013!  I’ll be back shortly with some thoughts on the past year and what I’m planning for 2014.  In the meantime, stay warm, fellow Torontonians!  It’s a wee chilly and a lot icy out there!  It’s supposed to be -35 this evening so a good time to stay in and knit and/or sew!  I think we’ve been spoiled for the last couple of years as this winter feels brutal!  For those of you enjoying some sunshine… probably best if I kept my thoughts to myself! Sara

10 thoughts on “The Wooly Coppélia

  1. I like this one. A lot. And it does not look shapeless or big despite the fabric’s lack of recovery. And those mitts are super cute but I think I already told you that in person. Oh, and your hair looks great in these photos! Now, all the compliments are true, but don’t let them get to your head 🙂

Leave a Reply

