Desmond and Jude

I have had this post half done for over a week now and have been procrastinating like crazy instead of just finishing it.  And these projects have been finished for even longer than that!  Anyways, I recently got the chance to sew up a couple of jackets for the kids using a couple patterns from Shwin and Shwin, the Desmond and the Jude jacket.

First up is the Desmond.  I am in love with Daxton’s new jacket!  For his jacket I used a fine wale gray corduroy that I lined with flannel to make it a bit warmer.  I sewed up the 2T hoping that it would fit with some room to grow.  The fit is the one thing that I am not super happy with.  I find it to be a bit boxy and the next time I sew up the pattern I will pick a smaller body size but use the longer length to make it a bit more slim fitting.

IMG_6857

This pattern has some great details that elevate the pattern and result in a very professional looking finished product.  The jacket is fully lined so the inside is just as neat as the outside and is a great way to add a little bit of personalization.  Don’t you just love this car flannel from Riley Blake Designs for a boy?!

IMG_6856

The jacket also features welt pockets and sleeve cuffs.  This was my second time sewing welt pockets and I am super happy with how they turned out.

IMG_6872 IMG_6871

And although it is a bit difficult to see in this photo I think my favourite detail is the back yoke and button tab.  Overall I am just super happy with how this project turned out!

IMG_6834

Next up is the Jude jacket for Finnley.  I am going to be honest and say that I really am not happy with how this jacket turned out.  It is not fault of the pattern (take a look at the pattern pictures and you will see that the jacket is adorable), but rather some poor fabric choices and picking a size that is just too big for Finnley.  I am not sure why I decided to pick this shade of fleece for the jacket, especially for Finnley who would live in pink if given the choice, and I wish I had picked something a bit more feminine.  And why did I pick a contrast fabric with a black background?  Oh well, they can’t all be winners!

IMG_6829

The pattern does have a few details that I love, such as the collar.

IMG_6821

And the button tabs on the sleeves.

IMG_6820

Will just have to give this jacket another try is some different fabric and see how it turns out!

Elizabeth

10 thoughts on “Desmond and Jude

  1. I love Daxton’s jacket and Finnley’s is pretty cute also. I agree that you have very stylish children and they are also adorable, but I am very prejudiced. Mom

Leave a Reply

