PR&P – Mad For Plaid

Week 3 at Project Run and Play and this weeks theme was mad for plaid. While browsing fabric.com I came across some red and black plaid flannel and inspiration was born, a lumberjack vest for my little man! The husband is constantly telling me I don’t sew for the boy enough so this was the perfect week to sew for Daxton and go all out with his outfit! I think this is a problem a lot of us parents with both boys and girls have, but thankfully all these great indie pattern makers are coming out with some pretty awesome patterns for boys.

IMG_6535

Dax’s outfit started with a reversible vest using Go To Patterns Study Hall Jacket as the starting point. I used the fleece for one side and some plaid shirting that I got locally for the other. I needed to make a couple modifications to turn it into a vest. The pattern had raglan sleeves so first I changed it back to a normal armhole. Because I wanted the vest to be reversible and look good from both sides I added the welt pockets to both layers. The pockets on the flannel side are stitched closed and I cut off the pocket bag to eliminate some of the bulk. First time sewing welt pockets and it was surprisingly easy! For a closure, I eliminated the zipper and went with snaps. I had every intention of putting in a zipper but could not find a zipper that would separate and be reversible. Honestly wish I had been able to find one, snaps are such a pain! To finish the armholes I used double wide store bought bias tape.

IMG_6533 IMG_6516

To go along with his vest I also made Daxton some black pants using Blank Slate Patterns W pants. The back yoke was a great chance to feature some more of the plaid fabric. These pants came together super quickly! I added the zipper welt pockets to the yoke and did a faux fly. Although the pants are adorable I am not crazy about the fit. I made the 18month size for my 16month old son so I expected them to be too big which they are, but that is okay because it means room to grow. What I don’t love is the fit of the back yoke. There is a bunch of extra fabric in that area and the zippers barely fit on the yoke and they make the extra fabric stick out a bit. Overall I do like them though and will be trying them in a bigger size for Finnley.

IMG_6528

To finish the outfit I made Dax a simple t-shirt using the recess raglan pattern from See Kate Sew. This was my second time sewing this pattern (see first version here) and I love how quickly it comes together. And the fit is so great. I envision many more of these in the future, in fact I have a few planned already! For this shirt I used some white organic knit with black sleeves upcycled from a shirt in my closet. To tie it in with the mad for plaid theme I added an applique dinosaur using the plaid shirting. So simple but adds that little something special!

IMG_6523 IMG_6524

Taking pictures of a 16 month old is always an adventure. It started with a lot of this

IMG_6518 IMG_6531

but after a break ended with this.

IMG_6534

IMG_6538

IMG_6550

Yay for adorable boy clothes!

Elizabeth

Linking up with: Feather’s Flight // The Train to Crazy

16 thoughts on “PR&P – Mad For Plaid

  1. so so so cute! I just love it all to bits! The vest had me, then the dino shirt under… dying with the cuteness of it all. I have boys, so I appreciate an adorable boy outfit :o) hey, I’ve started a sewing for kids group pinterest board! I would love for you to join… just shoot me an e-mail with your pinterest info if you are interested :o) I’m on pinterest at ntcreations.e-mail: nap-timecreations@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

