PR&P – High Low Tunic

Project Run and Play time again!  This was the very first sew-along that I participated in last spring so I’m so excited to be sewing along again.  This week was the pattern remix challenge and my first attempt at making more than simple changes to a pattern.  The challenge was to remix Oliver + S’s free pattern, the Popover Sundress.  Although the dress is simple and sweet, it is September and time to start thinking about sewing for fall.

IMG_6477

I decided to turn the dress into a tunic with a high low hem that was inspired by Megan Nielsen’s Briar shirt pattern.  My favourite part of the original sundress pattern was the contrast yoke so I knew I wanted to keep that and make it even more pronounced by both raising and extending it.  I made the bottom of the yoke curved to follow the shape of the hem, with the front being concave and the back being convex.  The yoke is lined and has a slit with button and loop to let it fit over Finnley’s head.

IMG_6459 IMG_6458

I love adding pockets to everything I make for Finnley but I usually add inseam pockets, which she never uses.  The original pattern had tiny little patch pockets so I stuck with that idea but made them much larger and extended them all the way to the hem of the tunic.  Keeping with the curves I made the bottom of the pockets follow the curve of the hem.  Thankfully Finnley loves these pockets and it was difficult to get pictures without her hands in them!

IMG_6478

These are the faces I kept getting when I would ask her to take those hands out of her pockets!  Little lady doesn’t like being told what to do!

Hopefully this tunic will transition well into the fall with a cardigan over top or even a long sleeve shirt underneath.

Elizabeth

Linking up with: Feather’s Flight // The Train to Crazy // We Did It Wednesday Sew Much Ado// Too Cute Tuesday // Ginger Jamboree

28 thoughts on “PR&P – High Low Tunic

  1. Hi! So glad you left me a comment and now I have your wonderful blog to explore! Those pockets and that little sweetie = the definition of sweetness! have a great weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

