Finnley’s Circle Dress

Hello!  I finally managed to snap some pictures tonight so I can share a newish project.  For the first time since we started this blog I have a back log of projects to be shared and need to get more on top of taking pictures.

My little lady Finnley turned 3 last month and I wanted to make her something special to wear on her birthday.  Figured that this was the perfect reason to finally buy the Geranium dress pattern.  This pattern was one of the very first ones that got me excited when I started sewing so I am not sure why it took me so long to finally purchase it.IMG_6271 How adorable is this dress!  For this dress I used Lizzy House pearl bracelets in colour unknown.  I think that it is coral however the actual fabric is really orange so I am not sure.  Regardless of the colour it makes a pretty cute dress.  I choose the cap sleeves and the pleated skirt for my first Geranium, although can’t wait to try that little flutter sleeve on a tunic for fall.

IMG_6255I was putting the finishing details on this dress the morning of Finnley’s birthday.  I really struggled to find buttons for the back.  I could not find orange ones that actually matched the colour of the fabric and I really didn’t want to put white ones on.  Thankfully the morning of I remember that my mother-in-law  had given me a bag of buttons along with a bunch of fabric and there just happened to be these perfect pearly buttons.  I think they ended up being just right!

IMG_6270

Not too sure what I could say about this pattern that a million other bloggers have not already said.  It came together quickly, the pattern was super easy to follow, and I can’t wait to make another!

The best part about sewing for Finnley is how excited she gets about everything I make her.  She is a girl through and through and gets very excited about dresses. When she saw this dress she called it her orange circle dress and has requested to wear it on multiple occasions. Definitely a win!

IMG_6282 IMG_6259

Now to end some photos of Finnley dancing in her princess dress!  She loves to pretend to be a ballerina and is very excited to be starting dance class next month.

IMG_6276

IMG_6264

Elizabeth

One thought on “Finnley’s Circle Dress

  1. Pingback: The Woven Tank Top Saga – Eucalypt! | hamiltonchicklets

Leave a Reply

