KCW: Pink Ombre Ruffle Skirt

Can’t believe how quickly it arrived, but it is time for KCW, the summer edition.  I wasn’t sure if I was going to participate this time around, considering it is already the middle of July and I thought my kids would have all the summer clothes they needed by now.  WRONG, the master procastinator/ horrible time manager strikes again!  So, summer basics it is!  Most of my planned projects (if I manage to fit them all in) are shorts for the kids, but this first one is actually a present for Finnley’s BFF Annabelle.  Annabelle just turned 3 it is going through a major princess faze.  She lives in dresses, and only dresses that she deems princess worthy.  Not sure this skirt fits the bill, but I am hoping pink and ruffles will win this little girl over!

IMG_6055

Finnley modelling the skirt

Loving this sweet little skirt!  Thinking I need to see if I have enough fabric to make one for Finnley!  Originally I envisioned pink ombre using voile so the final skirt would be more floaty and a little bit less stiff, but the only fabric that I could find in 3 shades of pink was quilting cotton solids.  Would like to try it with voile in the future but I am still pretty happy with how it turned out.  I used this tutorial to help me figure out measurements and it came together really quickly.

IMG_6072

The one change I will probably make next time is I will make the ruffle layers a little bit longer.  I don’t love how you can see the connector pieces and wish that the ruffles overlapped slightly.

IMG_6064 IMG_6061

Hopefully I will have some shorts for my little man to show in the next day or two!

Elizabeth

Linked here:
The Train to Crazy

3 thoughts on “KCW: Pink Ombre Ruffle Skirt

  1. Pingback: PR&P – Strawberry Twizzler Inspired | hamiltonchicklets

Leave a Reply

