A Whole Lotta Scoutin’ Going On….

I’ve had Elvis songs rolling through my head all day.  No idea why!

I’ve been such a blog slacker!  I’ve got quite the backlog of sewing and knitting projects to share but getting photos taken always seems like such an epic hassle!  So if Alisha is game, I’ll try and get caught up this week so that I can share a little more frequently.

Now that my apologies are out of the way we can move onto the flavour of the week… the Grainline Studio Scout Woven Tee!  I’ve had the pattern for awhile but didn’t do too much with it until the lovely Wanett of sownbrooklyn announced that she would be hosting a sewalong on kollabora.  Perfect excuse!  As always, my ambitions far outweighed my time!  While I’ve only got two finished versions to show you today, I have a few more versions either done or in progress.  Will share these another day.

So first up is possibly the most boring tee in history.  White!  How earthshattering!  And original, nee?  But white shirts always get a ton of wear in my wardrobe until the dreaded deodorant yellow tinge sends them to the recycling bin.  Anyway, there is always room for white tops and tees in my closet.  I tend to be a little wary of patterns when I see a straight line from armpit to hem (boxy is not a good look on my curves!) so I decided that sticking to fabrics with some drape would be a great plan.  With that in mind, I went searching for a white rayon challis.  You’d think that such a simple fabric would be easy to come across but it took me forever to find some!  Eventually, with fabric in hand, I made the tee as written.  My only teeny modification was to add couple of inches to the length.  A wee warning to those considering this pattern…  the shirt and the sleeves run a bit short.

 white scout full white scout close tall

It’s plain, a bit large and, as feared, boxy!  Nonetheless, it’s light and airy, which is perfect in the hot and humid Toronto summers.  Sadly, disaster struck when I was giving this a final press.  My “rayon” fabric melted!  Methinks there was a touch of polyester in this!  Serves me right.

white scout meltedIf you’ve ever bought fabric at King’s Textiles on Spadina then you know that there is an incredible selection of fabric… all on unlabeled bolts!  Fabric is roughly sorted but if you are ever unsure of what you are dealing with then you’re entirely dependent on the staff and their textile knowledge.  I found this one in their rayon section and suspected that it was really a rayon/poly blend but forgot to set my iron accordingly.  Lesson learned!  Since the shirt was already finished, I roughly (and I do mean roughly!) patched the area but I think it’s safe to say that this version of scout will only make the following appearance…  under a cardigan!  In this case, my wispy cardigan.

white scout full with wispy

Next up was a colour-blocked version.  I used some really lovely voile from The Workroom that I thought might be a disaster on me with this pattern as voile is more floaty than drapey (love the language liberties we tend to take when blogging!).  In the end, I don’t think it’s too bad!  And this fabric is like butter!  A real pleasure to wear.  I again added some length to the shirt and altered the hemline so that it was curved (similar to the Wiksten Tank hem).  I really prefer this hem on such a simple shirt.  I french seamed the colour block joins to keep things tidy.  And…  that’s about it!  Not too much to say on this one!

colour scout close colour scout full

It’s a shirt?  No!  It’s a tent?!?!

colour scout tentI really recommend this pattern for anyone looking to build up their wardrobe staples.  It’s lovely as is and is a great way to highlight a special cut of fabric you may have stashed.  However, it’s also a bit of a blank canvas and many, many fun variations of this can can be found online.  Just check out the sewalong entries if you don’t believe me!  I’ve currently got a split back version of this going (similar to my split-back tank) in a herringbone chambray and another colour blocked version with a half button placket on the back (inspired by the Datura Blouse) and similar to this lovely version.  Will share those another day.

In the meantime, have you given kollabora a try? Enjoying it?

As an aside, this was also one of the patterns I wanted to try out for the Indie Pattern Month. The next Indie pattern I promised to try is the Briar tee from the awesome Megan Nielsen! I’ve got a few versions of this to share next week!

Thanks for stopping by!

Sara

Indie pattern month
6 thoughts on “A Whole Lotta Scoutin’ Going On….

  1. I really need to try this tee out, I love both versions. I like the bigger flowy look anyway. It’s hard to photograph ‘flowy’ though! I really, really need to buy this one, and I agree with you on that round hem. I was trying on clothes with my Mom one day, who is an expert ‘dress for your shape’ magician, and I came out in a rounded hem, and she offhandedly commented how flattering it was, and I was like ‘oh, wow, you’re right.’ I’m not sure I ever would have realized that on my own. I think sewing helps that kind of knowledge along. Cheers to ‘selfish’ sewing!

    • Thanks! Some people manage to get photos that show exactly how the fabric is but I have no idea how! I certainly never manage it. Probably helps if you’re a bit more comfortable in front of the camera and don’t stand there like a lump! Maybe I’ll get there eventually. Anyway, I agree that the curved hem can be super flattering. A total pain but really worth the extra effort! I’ll be keeping an eye out for future scouts on your blog!

Leave a Reply

