Indie Pattern Month – A Sunny Sewaholic Renfrew

Hello again and many apologies for the silence!  Life has been a tad hectic, to say the least!  But it’s Indie Pattern Month so you’ll be seeing more of us on here in the next couple of weeks!  I know, right!  So exciting!  Well, at least you should all be excited to see what some very fab pattern designers have to offer…  Bitty and I keep saying we’re going to take a break from sewalongs and yet we keep coming back for more!  They’re just too much fun!  Though this one is not exactly a sewalong…  more like a month long feature.  And as usual, we’re only making what we or our friends and family will get a lot of use out of.  I need summer shirts. And to conquer my fear of knits!  So first up that fits the bill perfectly is the Sewaholic Renfrew!

Renfrew front croppedThis pattern calls for stable knits so it seemed like the perfect place to venture into the world of stretch fabrics.  This is a medium weight slub cotton knit that I picked up at the last customer appreciation event at my local Fabricland.  I kind of love it and wish I had bought it in more colours while it was 50% off!  Oh well…  I (obviously!) opted for the cowl neck version (C) with 3/4 length sleeves.  Not too much to say.  I followed the pattern with no problems.  No variations this time around but it’s a versatile pattern so I can see some future fun with it!  I am still serger-less so this all came together on my sewing machine.  I found that the stretch stitch worked nicely on this fabric (the lightening bolt-esque stitch).  I used my pinking shears to trim the seam allowances but should you feel lazy, this is an unnecessary step.

Renfrew cowl close Renfrew evil eye

LOVE LOVE LOVE this shirt!  I made this on Thursday night and have been living in it since! It is already a permanent fixture in my bag as a quick layering piece for excessively air-conditioned buildings.  I want more of these!  Many, many more!

Renfrew cowl Renfrew full

As always, I hate posing for pictures…  my way of dealing with this is clearly to be a dork!

Back again soon with more from our favourite Indie Pattern Designers!

Sara

Follow me on Bloglovin’

7 thoughts on “Indie Pattern Month – A Sunny Sewaholic Renfrew

  1. what a great Renfrew! I love the bright colour, it’s so nice to have warm and colourful clothing, ususally it’s either/or. I’m feeling an urge to make bright clothes now (we are in the middle of winter here – lame)

    • Thanks! It was the easiest of the renfrew options so that seemed like a good place to start! But I do love the cowl and have plans to make a few more of these this weekend. A really great layering piece. I haven’t tried the other neckline options but will soon!

  2. Pingback: 2013 Round-up! | hamiltonchicklets

Leave a Reply

