JOJI Spring KAL round-up

Hello! I finally got some pictures for a few of my March/April/May projects! I’m finding this the hardest part of blogging. I make lots of “stuff” but it’s really hard to blog about them without the photos! Anyway, as previously mentioned (here and here), I have been participating in a couple of spring wardrobe-related knit alongs (KALs). While the Tops, Tanks, and Tees KAL is ongoing, the JOJI Spring accessory and sweater KAL ended on May 1st.  I did actually finish everything on time but sadly, did not get everything blocked and posted before the 1st so no prizes for me!  But no worries as the real prizes are the Awesome and Amazing shawl/scarf and sweater that have joined my wardrobe.  So with no further ado…

The Way From Brighton! I love this shawl even though I was quickly tired of knitting the bobbles… I made this from some lovely worsted weight silk/wool yarn that has been languishing in my stash since I started knitting (ravelry notes found here). In fact, this is the very first yarn that I ever bought. It was from the sale section at Romni and I had no idea about yarn weights or quantities I might need to make something but I loved the colour and the price was right so home it came!  Unfortunately, 2 skeins of worsted weight yarn are not terribly useful so I wasn’t able to find a project for it until I found this pattern by Joji.  It really was a lovely pairing as the yarn gives the shawl fantastic sheen (silk!) and drape.  I’ve worn it often and after looking at these pictures, I think it looks perfect with my Wispy cardigan (not blogged but ravelry notes can be found here) and my split-back tank!

2013-04-16 15.28.33 2013-04-16 15.29.01

2013-04-16 15.32.59 2013-04-16 15.30.36

And for the sweater component of the KAL, I went with Neon.  Words can hardly describe how thrilled I am with this sweater!  Seriously, how obnoxious is this colour!  This is the Madeline Tosh dk in Tomato…  my new favourite colourway!

2013-05-14 13.52.07

2013-05-14 13.52.57 2013-05-14 13.51.51

Unfortunately I happen to be wearing the only shirt in my wardrobe that looks ridiculous under a cardigan!  It’s my Sencha (will blog about it soon) and it has a very high neckline.  Oh well.  You’ll just have to imagine how awesome this cardigan usually looks!  This one represents a few firsts for me.  My first all-over lace sweater, my first contiguous shoulder construction, my first Joji sweater (definitely not my last!), and my first stabilized button bands.

2013-05-14 13.52.25

Contiguous sleeve

2013-05-14 13.53.43

Grosgrain ribbon on the button bands.

If you look closely at the picture above you can see that I used some grosgrain ribbon to stabilize both button bands   I just used small whipstitches to attach the ribbon and then used the blanket stitch to stabilize the buttonholes that I cut into the ribbon.  It was a total pain to do but completely worth it!  And because I am a geek…

2013-05-14 13.51.36

So very happy in front of a camera… not at all awkward!

Sara

Follow me on Bloglovin’

8 thoughts on “JOJI Spring KAL round-up

  1. Both look lovely. I really like the look of that sweater and that shoulder construction looks very interesting… this one is going on my queue!

    • Thanks! I enjoyed the knit from start to finish, which is rare! I inevitably get bored at some point! And I really like the look and fit of the contiguous shoulder. Saw on your blog that you will be heading back this way soon. Safe journeys!

  2. Pingback: Project Sewn – Washi Dress | hamiltonchicklets

  3. Pingback: Blushing Lauriel… | hamiltonchicklets

  4. Pingback: The season of hats! | hamiltonchicklets

  5. Pingback: My Late Latte Cardigan | hamiltonchicklets

Leave a Reply

