Spring Tops, Tanks and Tees KAL update

Hello!  Sorry for the silence but I’m happy to report that my grant is finished and submitted!  It’s always such a relief to get these things off!  Anyway, as mentioned previously (and not so briefly!), I’ve been participating in a few Spring related knitalongs (KALs).  I’ve finished two pieces (an accessory and a sweater) for a KAL that the very amazing knitwear designer JOJI was hosting in March and April.  I’ll post about those in the next day or two as I still need to bribe a friend into taking some pictures!  In the meantime, an update on the Spring Tops, Tanks and Tees KAL that Shannon (of luvinthemommyhood ) is hosting…

I had a late start, in part due to work related deadlines but also because I wanted to double up on this one and take part in the Madeline Tosh MadMay KAL as the yarn I chose is the tosh merino light in Tart.  I cast Urban on on Saturday and it’s coming together quickly (I started the hip increases last night).  I did make quite a few modifications to the front and back bodice pieces to remove some of the ease built into the pattern.  I have narrow shoulders and I thought this one would constantly be slipping off and driving me nuts!  As always, Thao713 came to the rescue and I roughly followed the modifications she outlined on ravelry (my ravelry notes can be found here ).  All in all, this is another straightforward and well written pattern by Veera.  Compared to some of the other finished objects I have seen for this KAL, my version of Urban is pretty unexciting but I do think it will be simple and something I will wear often.

urban progress 1

urban progress 2

While I had some very grans plans at the start of this KAL, my late start has pretty much put an end to that.  I should have no problems finishing my Urban on time and since some lovely linen arrived for Hélène, I’m going to try and get this one done as well.  I love, love, LOVE this sweater!  Or at least I love it on everyone else!  I have a sneaking suspicion that I should have chosen something with a little colour but the natural yarn is so lovely that I couldn’t resist!  I’m already excited for this project when I look at my tiny little swatch!

helene swatchswatch

This sweater has a couple of firsts for me.  My first time knitting with linen.  I’ve been knitting a sleep sack for a friends baby using cotton and I am not a fan but I’m hoping that the lace in this pattern will help alleviate my major issues with plant based fibres (e.g. getting consistent stitches and an elastic fabric when knitting straight stockinette).  Knitting the swatch was not too bad.  The yarn is much stiffer than I am used to with wool but everyone assures me that it will soften up with washing!  It’s also my first time seaming a sweater.  Well, knitting the front and back separately as there is no actual seaming in this pattern (use a 3 needle bind-off instead).  I’m also a little concerned about the width of the neckline (see above comments about narrow shoulders).  I haven’t looked at the pattern closely yet but I may modify this slightly.  Will see…

Well, hopefully when I next blog about this KAL I’ll have some FO to share!

As an aside, the Wool People 5 collection by Brooklyn Tweed is out!  Check it out if you haven’t already!  As always, there some awesome patterns to chose from!

Sara

Follow me on Bloglovin’

One thought on “Spring Tops, Tanks and Tees KAL update

  1. Pingback: JOJI Spring KAL round-up | hamiltonchicklets

Leave a Reply

