Busy, Busy Chicklets!

Hello friends and family.  It’s been a busy week, which is why we have been somewhat silent.  I’ve got a grant due early next week so I have been stuck in front of a computer…  which sits right in front of my sewing machine at home.  It’s hard to ignore the temptation!  Alas, while sewing time has been scarce, I have managed to get in some solid knitting time.  Turns out I can read papers and knit at the same time!  Who knew you didn’t have to actually watch your hands!  Bitty has also had a crazy week getting back to work full time.  I’m sure she’ll tell you all about it!  So instead of some lovely FO’s to show, we thought we would show you our works in progress and all of the lovely plans we have (and may never get to) for the coming weeks.

First up is my sweater for Joji’s spring knit along (KAL).  I’ve already finished The Way from Brighton (to be blogged about later) for the accessory part of the KAL but my version of Neon is still in progress.  Can I finish both this and my grant for the 30th?  I’m thinking probably not!  Grant first, sweater second (and during breaks, late at night, etc!).  I still have the sleeves to knit and they look more tedious than sleeves normally are for this stitch pattern.  Too bad.  And then I am planning on stabilizing the button bands with some grosgrain ribbon (this sweater has some serious negative ease!), which means lots of hand sewing.  I can procrastinate like a champ when it comes to the finishing touches on anything I make so this is sure to sit around for awhile.

2013-04-24 17.28.10

In Tomato!

Also starting today is the Spring Tops-Tanks-Tees KAL hosted by Shannon (of luvinthemommyhood fame).  This runs for a month (I think?) and I have some grand plans!  First up is Urban (another pattern from the very talented Veera) in this lovely wine-coloured yarn…  

urban-2_medium2  tart

The Urban pullover is the only solid plan I have for this KAL but I have also been thinking about what I can do with these two lovely skeins of yarn (Gilded).  Featherweight cardi perhaps?  Any suggestions?  I’m a bit limited by the amount of yarn I have available and I love this colourway so don’t want to waste it on anything I won’t wear…

gilded

Gilded!

The final KAL possibility is this lovely pullover…

helene

Still with me?  If you’re still reading then I am seriously impressed!  I do have some sewing plans but rather than going into any details…

stylish 2 Liberty Mathilde

And because I couldn’t resist (I caught Hugo mid-sneeze)…

Miss Molly scary Hugo

Now I (Elizabeth) will share some of my WIP.  Sorry for the poor quality IPad photos I am about to share!

This week is Kids Clothing Week (find out more about it here) and I had big plans!  Unfortunately this week also ended up being my very first week back to working full time in over 2 years which has made getting much sewing done difficult.  Thankfully all these extra hours are only temporary!  First project I started (and thought I would have finished already) for KCW was another Shwin Designs pattern the very popular Maggie Mae.

photo

So close to being done, fingers crossed tomorrow will be the night so I can started on one of the other projects I had planned on sewing for Finnley.  Other projects I planned on sewing include some Lovely Ritas in a bright, summery yellow stretch denim and attempting to draft my very first pattern using some seersucker and swiss dots fabric.

photo(1) photo(2)

One last project I have on the go is my first Tiny Pocket Tank made with some Anne Maria Horner voile.  All I need to do is cut out and sew on some bias tape to the neckline and arms but I made the mistake of not cutting all my pattern pieces at the same time.  Oh how I hate cutting fabric and I am having a hard time motivating myself to actually get my bias tape ready to go.  The fact that it needs to be pieced together just makes me want to do it even less!  However Rae has extended her Spring Top Sew Along which hopefully will give me the motivation I need!

photo(4)

And that was way more information than you ever needed!

Sara and Elizabeth

2 thoughts on “Busy, Busy Chicklets!

  1. Pingback: Spring Tops, Tanks and Tees KAL update | hamiltonchicklets

  2. Pingback: JOJI Spring KAL round-up | hamiltonchicklets

Leave a Reply

