An Exciting Week

So this past week has been exciting one for the hamiltonchicklets!  We got our very first blog feature!  Sara’s ridiculously awesome Gramps Cardigan was featured over at The Train to Crazy… thanks so much for showing our project some love!  Head on over to check out the other features and to take a look around.  There are plenty of great ideas and tutorials for you to go through!

We also got nominated for our very first blogging award!  Many thanks to Good Witch Knits and t.e.d.d.y for the nods and the Liebster Award nominations!  It is so much fun to know that people are not only taking the time to look at our blog but are also enjoying what they see!  It’s also been fun to start “talking” to people who love knitting and sewing as much as we do!

So what is the Liebster Award?

“The Liebster Award is an award given to rising bloggers who have less than 200 followers. Liebster is German and means sweetest, kindest, nicest, dearest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing, and welcome.”

The rules are:

  • You thank the person who nominated you!
  • You answer the 11 questions posted by your nominator
  • You pass on the award to 11 new recipients
  • You post 11 new questions to your recipient bloggers

We’ve been seeing this award pop up on a lot of blogs in the last few weeks and think that this is a really great way to showcase all of the amazing talent out there.  So to answer some of the questions sent our way:

What is your favorite thing about blogging?

Elizabeth – The idea of starting a blog has been in the back of mind for quite awhile but I never knew what direction I would take it in.  So when my sister encouraged me to start sewing and then suggested we start a blog, it was an easy decision for me.  I  love sharing all these projects that I am super proud of with my friends and family and knowing that I am going to have something concrete that I can look back to see what I have made and how my sewing skills have grown.

Sara – Well, this blog has been up and running for all of two weeks so I haven’t decided!  I will say that I have enjoyed really getting to know my little sister again as we planned and started this!  It’s also been fun sharing our projects with each other and all of our friends and family (at least those that have tuned in!).

What drew you to knitting/fiber arts?

Elizabeth – I personally don’t knit so I will change this one to sewing.  What drew me to sewing was all the time I spent on Pinterest and blogs admiring all the beautiful clothing that people were making for their kids and thinking I can do that!

Sara – I described my introduction to knitting a bit in my Gramps Cardigan post.  We grew up watching our mom crochet and knit so I had been thinking of giving this a try for a long time.  A few years ago my friend Darci taught me how to crochet and I went through a brief spurt where I made everyone I knew a scarf…  or two… or three!  Bitty can tell you all about those as they were a little long for my petite sister!  But as much as I enjoyed the process of crochet, I didn’t love the look of the finished fabric for anything other than scarves or blankets so I didn’t stick with this hobby for long.  Knitting, on the other hand, produces a fabric that appeals to me far more for sweaters, hats, etc so about a year ago I just dove right in!

What is your all time favorite book?

Elizabeth – No one book jumps out as my favourite but I love reading anything by Nora Roberts.

Sara – The Catcher in the Rye by Salinger.

Where would you go on a trip if time and money were no object?

Elizabeth – Without a doubt the number 1 place that I want to visit is Ireland.  Someday…

Sara – I’d go see the world!  Which is a bit of a cheat for an answer!

What do you do to relax?

Elizabeth – Down time is few and far between with my 2 little ones and most of it is spent sewing, however I love reading and watching TV, especially during hockey season.  Go Canucks!

Sara – I’m also very busy with work but outside of that I like to swim, cycle and rock climb.  I also love to read and (no surprise!) knit and sew!

What is your day job?

Elizabeth – I currently work part time as a teacher at a local Sylvan Learning Center while I am on maternity leave with my youngest.

Sara – I’m finishing up a postdoctoral fellowship in Immunology so I spend my days in a lab or in front of a computer writing about the fruits of my lab labour!

Do you have any pet peeves?

Elizabeth – How is it possible that I am drawing a complete blank.  I am sure I will think of a ton after we post this!

Sara – So many!  It’s a goal of mine to be more patient and less easily annoyed!

White, milk, or dark chocolate?

Elizabeth – Milk

Sara – yes, please!

Who or what inspires you?

Elizabeth – When it comes to sewing most of inspiration comes from other bloggers.

Sara – I’m with Bitty on this one.

What is the best thing you’ve ever made?

Elizabeth – Haven’t completed very many projects yet, but my favourite so far is my Sweetheart Chevron dress.

Sara – Gramps! And my very first sweater, Buckwheat by a seriously awesome designer, Veera.  I haven’t blogged about this one as I made it almost a year ago but you can find info and pictures here.  It’s a simple sweater but I still clearly reminder the pride and satisfaction of finishing it and wearing it for the first time!

If you could be any animal, which would you choose?

Elizabeth – Not very original but I think I would pick a bird of some sort so I can fly.

Sara – a cat!  Cause I have two of them and their life seems pretty sweet!

molly hugo

Hugo and Molly

Next up are 10 bloggers (with fewer than 200 followers on Blogluvin’) that we would like to nominate.  We’re deviating from the “rules” here as we’re keeping it even at 5 picks each.  This is just a small sampling of all of the talent you can find out there!  We realize that some of the bloggers we’re about to name may have already received one (or many!) Liebster award nominations so there is absolutely no pressure to go through all of the rules again!  We’ve included you because we genuinely enjoy your blogs so just consider this a shout-out because you’re awesome!  If you do feel like playing along then we are looking forward to reading your answers and to checking out your favourite blogs!  And on that note, here are the nominees…!

  1. Sewing for Four – I came across this blog a few weeks ago (not sure how) but I kept finding myself going back to look at more and more of her projects.  Brittney is an extremely talented mother of 4 who seems to have a love for bold colours and Oliver + S patterns.
  2. Adirondack Inspired – I first found this blog when I was looking through other entries from the Project Run and Play (PR&P) sew-along where she added an adorable peter pan collar to a Geranium dress, so cute!  Mixed in with all her pictures of her kids modelling her sewing projects are some beautiful pictures of the Adirondack mountains.  A blog worth checking out for sure!
  3. Shaffer Sisters – Another blog found through the PR&P sew-along.  This blog features 3 incredibly talented sisters who design some pretty incredible childrens clothing.
  4. Lexi Made –  And yet another blog from PR&P.  There are some seriously amazing bloggers that contribute to this sew-along and Lexi Made is one of them.  Alexia is super new to sewing but has produced some pretty impressive projects to date.  She is also a photographer so the photos she takes of her kids are beautiful!
  5. One Mama’s Journal – I first came across this blog when I was looking to find examples of Shwin and Shwin’s Lucy Tunic.  If you looking to sew for little ones then this blog is worth taking a look at.
  6. sew Amy sew – I came across this blog when I was looking at finished versions of Archer by Grainline Studio (she has an adorable one out of green gingham shirting that can be found here).  She has lots of great projects worth checking out.
  7. Poofytail. While this is a relatively new blog, I suspect she already has many followers! I first found this blog when Sewaholic  debuted this lovely version of the Robson Coat!
  8. Mabel Makes.  I first came across this blog when I was looking at Gertie’s Bombshell Dress class on Craftsy (you can find Stephanie’s seriously gorgeous version here).  In addition to sewing, this blog is full of knitting information and ideas making it worth a long visit.
  9. Sew Debbie. This blog is not precisely new as it has been up for a couple of years now.  However, it is new to me and is definitely worth including!  I found this blog as I was looking for some fabric inspiration for Tilly (of the Buttons) new Mathilde Blouse.  You can see Debbie’s adorable version here.
  10. Miso Crafty Knits.  This is another blog that is not precisely new (and I suspect has far more than 200 followers off of Bloglovin’!) but is so full of amazing knits that I think any fibre enthusiast should stop by!  She seems to have an affection for Veera patterns that rivals my own!

And some questions for all of you!

What is your favourite season?
What is your favourite candy?
Half-empty or half-full?
Dog or cat?
If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?
What is your favourite self-made garment or item?
Where do you like to shop for fabric and/or yarn?  Do you have a lot available locally or do you prefer to shop online?
Why did you start a blog?
Where did you learn to sew/knit/crochet?
How big is your fabric/yarn stash?
What is something about yourself that people would be surprised to know?
Thanks!
Sara and Elizabeth
6 thoughts on “An Exciting Week

  1. Pingback: Sweet Stuff | poofytail

Leave a Reply

