Gramps Cardigan

There have been a lot of babies arriving in the last year.  And I do mean A LOT!  Which is fun and fantastic but last January, when I was anticipating the arrival of 11 babies in a three month stretch (both friends and family), I had not a clue what to do about baby gifts.  That was a lot to manage on a postdoc salary!  I knew that the parents of all of these babies would understand and be fine with nothing more than a visit from their “Auntie” Sara but I still wanted to celebrate their arrival in some way.  This is a long way of saying that I decided I should learn how to knit!  It didn’t seem at all unreasonable to learn how to knit and to make 11 gifts in a couple of months!  And it turns out that as ambitious as this plan was, it was possible!  With the help of youtube and tutorials available on this fantastic website, I quickly cast on my first project (the obligatory garter stitch scarf in a truly appalling shade of green) and I did mange to make 11 sets of baby socks with matching hats… albeit not all on time!  This was the start of my love affair with yarn, knitting and all things fibre-related.  My knitting needles and I have since had a very fun and prolific year!

Available to feed the addiction of all fibre fiends is Ravelry.  Sigh.  Ravelry.  Now this a place to get lost!  I spent many an hour perusing patterns and projects on this site while I was thinking about knitting and seeing this project made up my mind!  I had to knit this sweater …  which meant that I had to learn how to knit!  It took me a few months to gain the skills (aka the confidence) to cast this one on but a visit to meet my adorable nephew Daxton at Christmas was the perfect excuse.  Since the colourway that Thao713 chose was much of what I loved about her project, I ordered the Madeline Tosh yarn in Grasshopper (how fun is that name?!) from eatsleepknit.com in Georgia and cast this on within an hour of this yarn arriving at my door!  Of no surprise to anyone who knows me, this was not done in time for my trip to Vancouver!  In fact, I think I finished knitting this on Christmas Day!

IMG_5171   Dax standing 3 (medium)

This is, by far, my favourite finished project to date!  I love it as much as I thought I would and Dax is adorable in it!  Though he is always adorable.  This is one happy baby, folks!

Dax clapping 22  IMG_5088

I wanted this to fit Daxton for awhile so I made it a bit big for him but judging from the pictures above (taken yesterday by his very obliging parents) he is growing into it quickly!  I hope he gets another season out of this!

IMG_5136

Hugs from big sister (in her Christmas sweater… to be saved for another post)

finnley kisses Dax (medium)

Sibling love!

This is the Gramps Cardigan by Kate Oates.  I did make a few modifications to the pattern based on comments that other people had made in their project notes.  I made it longer than suggested with the hope that Dax could wear it for a couple of years.  I also made the sleeves slightly wider than suggested.  You can find my project notes here.

IMG_5090

Cause I can’t resist pictures of these two…!

Cheers!

Sara

Linked up with the following:
Photobucket

15 thoughts on “Gramps Cardigan

      • Sure thing! I love that green cardigan! I was just telling my mom the other day that my new “thing” is fancy, grandpa type sweaters for little boys. I love the bright green with the gorgeous design.

  1. Pingback: 2013 Round-up! | hamiltonchicklets

Leave a Reply

